October 19, 2019

550 McKinney Street
Houston, TX 77002
7PM Cocktails & Authors’ Reception | 8PM Dinner & Literary Awards
CHAIRPERSON Mrs. Zarine M. Boyce
Katherine Center / Dr. Annetra Piper / Dr. Roger Leslie / Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni / Bapsi Sidhwa / The Reader’s Choice Award


The Houston Literary Awards Gala is the inaugural event celebrating Houston’s accomplished authors to be held at the historic Julia Ideson Library. TheHouston Public Library Foundation is featuring five of the finest local authors in contemporary fiction and nonfiction whose books engage and entertain as well as deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world. The Reader’s Choice Award Winner will be announced during the red-carpet gala celebrating literary excellence. Voting for the Readers’ Choice Award will be online. The evening features a social meet and greet with the authors, book signings, specialty cocktails, gourmet dining, premium seating, and complimentary valet. Attendance is limited to create a personalized VIP experience. Houston Literary Awards Gala is a new fundraiser for the Houston Public Library Foundation who connects philanthropy to the Houston Public Library in support of life-changing programs.

Purchase Tickets

Sponsorship & Tables

Vote for the Readers’ Choice Award

HOnorees for website.jpg

2019 Featured Authors


For more information:
Mignonne Anderson, MJAndersonAssoc@gmail.com
Sally Swanson, sswanson@houstonlibraryfoundation.org