Board service makes the community stronger and connects to opportunities.

The Board of Directors serve as ambassador’s who share the Library’s message with colleagues and friends. They support and reflect the core social values of equal access, democracy, diversity, education, intellectual freedom, preservation, privacy, the public good, and social responsibility.


Licia A. Green Ellis


Zarine M. Boyce


Tina Arias Peterman


Neil Thomas

Acting Secretary

Board Members

Rachel Cevallos

Adan Vega

Gaynell F. Drexler

Alia Vinson

Carme Williams, CFRE

Melinda Little

Mary Jane Wakefield

Ex-Officio Members

The Honorable Sylvester Turner

Mayor of Houston

Rhea Brown Lawson, Ph.D.

Director, Houston Public Library

Foundation Team

The Foundation team carries out the Board of Directors' strategic goals. The Foundation is out in the community, creating opportunities and connections to expand the reach and impact of the Houston Public Library.