The Houston Library Foundation hosted the inaugural Literary Awards Gala on Saturday, October 19, 2019. This event honored 5 Houston based authors and a Reader’s Choice winner. The 5 honored authors were Bapsi Sidhwa, Katherine Center, Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, Dr. Roger Leslie, and Dr. Annetra Piper. The Reader’s Choice winner was selected from 5 authors nominated online by the community. The 2019 Reader’s Choice winner was Nkem DenChukwu. The event was very well received and had many notable guests attend. The 2020 Houston Literary Awards Gala date has already been set, so mark your calendars for Saturday, October 3, 2020.

If you would like a photo emailed to you, please email Amber Moore at Our office would be happy to share the images with you.